Wake County, NC has three property tax relief programs


Mike Raszmann, an AmeriCorp member with Habitat for Humanity of Wake County, helps during a wall construction at the Downtown Raleigh Farmers Market in this 2013 file photo. Habitat is one of the groups working with One Wake to encourage Raleigh and Wake County leaders to pass local housing relief for homeowners facing rising bills.

[email protected]

Time is running out to apply for three programs that can help Wake County residents save money on their property tax bills.

North Carolina has three property tax relief programs that counties offer to residents who meet certain demographics. The deadline to apply is June 1.

A total of 5,775 exclusions have been approved in Wake County.

Some nonprofits, including One Wake and Habitat for Humanity for Wake County, have called on Wake County and the City of Raleigh to create new programs similar to those offered in Mecklenburg, Durham and Orange counties.

The Wake County Board of Commissioners will discuss potential new programs on June 13.

Here are some of the existing programs:

Disabled Veterans Program

Applicants must be an honorable discharged veteran or their unmarried surviving spouse. The veteran must have a “total and permanent disability” that is related to his time in the military or received benefits for specially adapted housing.

The program excludes up to the first $45,000 of the appraised value of the veteran’s home.

People do not have to reapply for this program every year.

There were 1,873 exclusions approved for the Disabled Veterans Program.

Exclusion of the property of the elderly or disabled

This program excludes $25,000 or up to 50% of a home’s value from tax, whichever is greater.

Applicants must be 65 years of age or older or be permanently disabled as of January 1. A candidate’s gross income cannot exceed $31,900.

People do not have to reapply for this program every year.

It is the most used program in Wake County with 3,693 approved exclusions.

Tax deferral

This program is also called circuit breaker program.

Applicants must be 65 or older and be permanently disabled as of January 1. A candidate’s gross income cannot exceed $47,850.

Applicants must have owned and lived in the home for the past five years and must apply annually.

This program limits taxes to a percentage of the applicant’s income and taxes over the limit are deferred to a later date.

“The last three years of deferred taxes become payable with interest if a disqualifying event occurs,” according to Wake County’s website. “Disqualifying events include death of the owner or transfer of the property when the owner’s share does not pass to another eligible owner, and failure to use the property as the owner’s permanent residence.”

Only 129 exclusions were approved for this program.

How to register?

Go to wakegov.com/tax and click on “tax relief programs”.

To submit a claim, email [email protected], mail to PO Box 2331, Raleigh, NC 27602, or hand-deliver to 301 S. McDowell St., Suite 3800, Raleigh.

The deadline to apply is June 1st. If a married couple is the sole owner of a property, only one application is required. If multiple unmarried owners are claiming tax relief for the same property, separate claims are required for each owner. Benefit limitations may apply.

For questions, call 919-856-5400.

This story was originally published May 24, 2022 8:20 a.m.

Raleigh News & Observer related stories

Anna Johnson covers Raleigh and Wake County for the News & Observer. She has previously covered city government, crime and business for newspapers across North Carolina and has received numerous awards from the North Carolina Press Association, including first place for investigative journalism. She is a 2012 alumnus of Elon University.
Support my work with a digital subscription

Penny D. Jackson